CAUTION: Mass deleting contacts is a powerful tool and deleting the wrong contacts can cause information to be lost or halt your ability to operate. Mass Deleting should be done by an account administrator and done with great care.
Location: Contacts Tab
Identifying what contacts will be deleted
You can identify what contacts will be deleted using the "With List" or "With Selected" button.
With List - This basically means you are going to Mass Delete all the leads on the list you are viewing. If you are going to use this method it is best practice to either build the list from scratch or at least review the filters on the list to ensure the right contact are being deleted. For further information on list building please visit our "Creating Contact Lists" article here. Make sure the "With List" radio button is selected if you wish to use this method.
With Selected - The second option is to only delete contacts you've selected using the check boxes on the first column (left side) then selecting the "With Selected" radio button.
Once you have determined if you are going to Mass Delete "With List" or "with Selected" you can then select "Mass Edit" from the drop down directly to the right of those 2 radio buttons. Click the green circle icon with a check mark inside to go to the "Mass Edit" Page.
You will now be taken to the "Mass Edit" page. On the navigation bar you will find "Mass Delete" but before you delete it is best practice to review the number of contacts that will be affected before performing the action. Judge the number of 'contacts will be affected' with your estimates for how many you are assuming should be deleted.
CAUTION: Once deleted contacts can not be immediately recovered. You can contact firstname.lastname@example.org if contacts have been deleted in error, however the request may take 24hrs to fulfill. Mass deletion should be performed with great attention to detail.